Running but Still Not Running

Many of you know that I am training to complete an Ironman in November (yikes–that’s coming up fast–in case your interested in my training progress check out ironmoms2012.blogspot.com).  As part of my training, I need to do some major running.  However, as of late, I have not been motivated to get much running in.  With temperatures in the 115 degree range during the day and low temps in the 90’s, the weather is doing its part to discourage me.

The other factor that has contributed to my lack of motivation is that I feel like I run all day long–so I don’t feel like slipping on my running shoes and doing more running.  It’s amazing how many different places and tasks we “need” to do each day.  There are things to pick up and things to drop off.  There are children who need to be places, who need to get things.  There are pets that need extra attention and more supplies.  Then, there are the responsibilities we can’t shirk–like work and buying groceries.  By the end of the day, I feel as exhausted as if I had run a marathon.

It’s too bad all that running around doesn’t burn calories and boost cardio conditioning!

Leave a comment